Hello Guest March 19, 2019, 07:05:55 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Ship Control Unit  (Read 12472 times)

wjjay

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 5
Ship Control Unit
« on: May 02, 2007, 02:48:30 »

I have been gone for several months, actually about a year. But remember that a ship control unit was supposed to come out. Whatever happened to that. Was it released? If so where can i find it and does anyone know how well it works?
Logged

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 02:54:19 »

I have been gone for several months, actually about a year. But remember that a ship control unit was supposed to come out. Whatever happened to that. Was it released? If so where can i find it and does anyone know how well it works?

I don't know whether this is the one you were talking about but there is one here:

http://www.wilcopub.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=prod_scu

Logged
Best Regards
Kevin

wjjay

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2007, 04:01:54 »

Yes sir that must be it. Kind of expensive, but I would actually consider it if it works right and would be compatible to shipsim08. Has anyone tried this yet? Does anyone have any info on how well it works.
Thanks
Logged

Bottman

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3536
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2007, 07:31:01 »

This one is history! And it never comes into the stores, as I know. It was too expensive and not suitable for the advanced game we are waiting for with the 2008 version.

Bottman
Logged
Bottman

Navigare necesse est!
Look at www.elbdampfer-hamburg.de

Ship Sim

  • Guest
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2007, 20:26:46 »

Wilco i think was creating it and if I hard correctly  Vstep pulled the plug because they were takeing to long.
Logged

wjjay

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 5
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2007, 06:31:34 »

Oh well it was a good idea. Maybe something will come out in the future.
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2007, 05:49:08 »

Wilco i think was creating it and if I hard correctly  Vstep pulled the plug because they were takeing to long.

That and the product was not going to be functional if additional features were added to the game and the quality was not that good - so I was told.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Master Captain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1842
    • Elitefun Arcade & Forum
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2007, 11:36:17 »

i found another ship control unit being made http://www.raildriver.com/products/shipdriver.php KM
Logged

Wout

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 753
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2007, 13:10:03 »

About that raildriver unit: ETA September 2007 (about the same as the release date of shipsim 2008). Costs will probably be $200+ All of this is still uncertain, but that's what we at VStep heard.
Logged
Wout

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2007, 18:22:40 »

This model looks cheaply made.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2007, 12:37:55 »

This model looks cheaply made.

I think the one Wilcopub are selling is ok but the other one doesn't go to my liking. :)
Logged
Best Regards
Kevin

Master Captain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1842
    • Elitefun Arcade & Forum
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2007, 15:31:36 »

i agree the one wilco is making is much better than the raildriver one. KM
Logged

Bottman

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3536
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2007, 16:00:49 »

I think both may have advantages. Okay, the raildriver looks pretty cheaply, but with some stickers on top, it would provide a more realistic engine control as Wilcos did. And lots of switches could be used for several new features, like anchoring, sliping towing rope and much more. In my opinion, the raildriver has a lot of potential for further, tailormade improvements. Well, until than it will have the same price as Wilco   :'(

Cheers
Logged
Bottman

Navigare necesse est!
Look at www.elbdampfer-hamburg.de

Sam

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1040
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2007, 16:18:15 »

I think both may have advantages. Okay, the raildriver looks pretty cheaply, but with some stickers on top, it would provide a more realistic engine control as Wilcos did. And lots of switches could be used for several new features, like anchoring, sliping towing rope and much more. In my opinion, the raildriver has a lot of potential for further, tailormade improvements. Well, until than it will have the same price as Wilco   :'(

Cheers

A simple control unit with dual throttle, rudder and bow/stern truster joysticks would be enough for me.
There are allready enough buttons on your keyboard for the anchoring, slipping towing rope, ... ::)
Logged

marcstrat

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2626
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2007, 16:26:26 »

Greetings,
I've also seen a controle unit,which you converted with a steeringwheel.I 'cant remember the brand,or company,who was making it.
However i liked it very much.
Regards
Marc
Logged
N

Captain Rhys

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 38
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2007, 18:18:23 »

I just use the logitech g25 steering wheel. Use the wheel for steering and the gearstick for throttle :P
Logged
Regards,
           Rhys

marcstrat

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2626
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2007, 18:28:22 »

I just use the logitech g25 steering wheel. Use the wheel for steering and the gearstick for throttle :P
Greetings,
Yes,but what when the game will be more extended,with lights,anchordrop and al these extra's.
O.K. this all will take al lot of time,and is not for the nearest future,but it's just a question.
Regards
Marc
P.S.my vision,on the game is also to run my computer,like a real vessel.multisceen,and al kinds of buttons,for some handling.
Logged
N

Captain Rhys

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 38
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #17 on: May 07, 2007, 22:27:08 »

The good thing about the g25 is that it has lots of buttons aswell. Also it has a 4-way directional pad.
Logged
Regards,
           Rhys

Sam

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1040
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2007, 15:34:47 »

I have just been experimenting with some (analog)potmeters on to the gameport of your computer.

And it works!!!!

If you just take 4 100K potmeters and you put them on the right pins of your gameport, you can use those as a 4 axis controller.

Only, I had a problem with the calibration, but that probably was beceaus I used 50K potmeters.

Pictures will come.(If you are interrested)
Logged

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2007, 16:56:58 »

I have just been experimenting with some (analog)potmeters on to the gameport of your computer.

And it works!!!!

If you just take 4 100K potmeters and you put them on the right pins of your gameport, you can use those as a 4 axis controller.

Only, I had a problem with the calibration, but that probably was beceaus I used 50K potmeters.

Pictures will come.(If you are interrested)

This is very cool.  There is still the problem, however, that ShipSim does not (so far as I can find out) have any provision for separate control of two throttles by joystick, or any way except by mouse.

I have a dual joystick (Logitech USB) and the right stick is useless here.

Anyone else have any light to shed on this?

Cheers,
Michael
Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

Rick1958

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 15
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2007, 20:58:03 »

For many years the flight sim community has been using keyboard controllers to make functional cockpits. Just open a keyboard and attach your momentary switch wires to the key inputs. Using this, multi-monitor and a wheel, a comfortable pilothouse could be made.
One thing I would like to see would be the ability to remove the software wheel. The same as removing the yoke in many flight sim planes while using a hardware yoke.
Independent throttles should be put high on the update list ;)
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2007, 21:59:41 »

Independent throttles should be put high on the update list ;)

As well as independent thruster controls (bow/stern)
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

adrienne

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2007, 01:34:16 »

http://radioholland.nl/
Maybe they can develop a good game controller?
Radio Holland  is a professional ship supplier.

Adrienne
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2007, 09:27:55 »

http://radioholland.nl/
Maybe they can develop a good game controller?
Radio Holland  is a professional ship supplier.

Adrienne


I do not see this being within their interest. However, I could be wrong.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2007, 09:37:58 »

Yes I am not sure either but good idea.  ;)
Logged
Best Regards
Kevin
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines