Hello Guest May 27, 2019, 04:28:24 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ship Control Unit  (Read 12766 times)

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2007, 09:50:08 »

Yes I am not sure either but good idea.  ;)

I think we would appreciate anyone doing it! I think Saitek would be a good option for this.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2007, 09:54:35 »

I think we would appreciate anyone doing it! I think Saitek would be a good option for this.

I agree, Saitek do a great controller called the X52 (some of my friends have this controller for some other games).

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2007, 10:09:49 »

I agree, Saitek do a great controller called the X52 (some of my friends have this controller for some other games).

Regards.

DJM.

I have been thinking about investing in two of those and try to merging them to be one control system for SS
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2007, 10:11:05 »

I have been thinking about investing in two of those and try to merging them to be one control system for SS

WOW, sounds like it would be a great setup ;D

I've kinda avoided buying the X52 for the time being, waiting for the price to fall ;)
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #29 on: June 10, 2007, 10:13:24 »

WOW, sounds like it would be a great setup ;D

I've kinda avoided buying the X52 for the time being, waiting for the price to fall ;)

eBay, baby. lol!
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #30 on: June 10, 2007, 10:15:06 »

eBay, baby. lol!

ROFL, pass.  My sister was duped on there recently :(

I avoid every auction site, always have ;)
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

Eemspoort

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 372
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #31 on: June 10, 2007, 12:13:16 »

I have the X-45, and in the near future i will have the X-52. Very nice stuff, works great.
It would work nice for the container-crane in SS08 as well.
Logged
m/s "Eemspoort"
1961, Hilgers A.G.-Rheinbröhl
76,2 x 8,20 x 2,72 mtr, 1085 ton
Deutz RBV 6 M 545, 800 HP @ 380 rpm
Daf KMD 250.2, 250 HP @ 1800 rpm, bowthruster

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #32 on: June 10, 2007, 12:57:19 »


Has anybody figured out a way to control twin throttles separately any way but directly with the mouse?
Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #33 on: June 11, 2007, 01:11:34 »

Has anybody figured out a way to control twin throttles separately any way but directly with the mouse?

Not as of yet. I know someone who is working on trying to find a way to make it happen via joystick and throttle combos, but that is about it. I heard it is something being looked into for the future, though.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #34 on: June 11, 2007, 18:46:49 »


Thanks Luc,

I downloaded the demo and will try it.  I know I can program my joystick to produce key combinations, so maybe .. .

I'll post the result.

Cheers,
Michael
Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #35 on: June 11, 2007, 20:18:28 »

If anyone wants to try something completely different, I use Voice Buddy (I haven't programmed it for SS yet).  It allows you to control key combinations (or single keystrokes) with your voice ;D

If anyone is interested, it's available here (secure site).

I have had great fun using this with FSX and other games, however it doesn't allow you to program mouse commands.........yet ;)

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

akkres

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #36 on: June 11, 2007, 23:46:01 »

Seperate throttle is possible with the Saitek Aviator AV8R (retail price about € 35,= at for example http://www.alternate.nl/html/productDetails.html?artno=NJZS76). It works well for ss only problem is the zero throttle position. These levers going very light on tough. Made for fs so the throttle position is from 0 to 1 but it would be nice if it could modified to -1 through 0 with a feelable 0 marking to +1.
I have bought the Saitek X52 before this Aviator AV8R and there it was also possible to use seperate throttle. Port side with the throttle and starboard with the joystick. In my opinion the Aviator AV8R is more easy to use and compared to the price it is perfect for ss. I can do almost all functions with the switches of this joysick with the various ships.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2007, 23:57:21 by akkres »
Logged
SS2008 1.4.2 (1038)+ New Horizons + Elbe and Furie, Shipsim 2006+Add-On 1.8NL
Q9550 2.83GHz 4GB  ATI Radeon 4870/512MB Vista Ultimate 64 Acer AL 2051W 1680*1050 Saitek AV8R-01 + X52

The best sailors are at home or ashore...
picture = radarscreen of The World project in Dubai on januari 2007

jalapino

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #37 on: June 15, 2007, 12:09:51 »

See my other posts for my custom USB controller designed for ShipSim. It provides independant throttles and thrusters as well as buttons to control all functions ( eg chart zoom, point of view, tie up, etc). No need for keyboard or mouse at all.
Logged

akkres

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #38 on: June 15, 2007, 14:43:32 »

Hello,

Do you have a link to that topic?
Logged
SS2008 1.4.2 (1038)+ New Horizons + Elbe and Furie, Shipsim 2006+Add-On 1.8NL
Q9550 2.83GHz 4GB  ATI Radeon 4870/512MB Vista Ultimate 64 Acer AL 2051W 1680*1050 Saitek AV8R-01 + X52

The best sailors are at home or ashore...
picture = radarscreen of The World project in Dubai on januari 2007

Shipaddict

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3745
    • ShipSim Magazine Official Website
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #39 on: June 17, 2007, 11:25:44 »

Can't wait for a ship control unit!
Logged

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #40 on: June 17, 2007, 12:51:29 »

I think we would appreciate anyone doing it! I think Saitek would be a good option for this.

Yer, my joystick is made by them.
Logged
Best Regards
Kevin

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #41 on: June 18, 2007, 21:04:06 »

Yer, my joystick is made by them.

And how is the quality?
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

LanceRomance

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2
    • Crystalizedimages
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #42 on: June 29, 2007, 02:49:27 »

I have been using a Saitek flightsim joystick on the ship sim. Engine forward/reverse and left and right with the stick. The had switch zooms and pans. But it does get a little frustrating not being able to split the engine controls. I saw on the saitek web site they offer a joystick (AV8R) with dual engine controls. Does anyone know if this model would work for independent engine controls on the Shipsim? I think that if some one could at the least come up with a simple unit that would at least control the Steering and engines would be great and I wouldn't mind doing the rest with the keyboard.
Logged

akkres

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Ship Control Unit
« Reply #43 on: July 25, 2007, 15:49:01 »

See my reply #38. Yes, with ss2006 you have separate throttles with the AV8R (Aviator) joystick. I don't have the ss2008 yet so I don't know if it works with ss2008.
Logged
SS2008 1.4.2 (1038)+ New Horizons + Elbe and Furie, Shipsim 2006+Add-On 1.8NL
Q9550 2.83GHz 4GB  ATI Radeon 4870/512MB Vista Ultimate 64 Acer AL 2051W 1680*1050 Saitek AV8R-01 + X52

The best sailors are at home or ashore...
picture = radarscreen of The World project in Dubai on januari 2007
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines