Hello Guest September 18, 2019, 21:15:05 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 

Poll

What will be the System requirements for Ship Sim 08

Any suggestion on what system would run the 08 sim?
- 12 (31.6%)
What would be the best system to runthe 08 sim?
- 26 (68.4%)

Total Members Voted: 36


Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008  (Read 22075 times)

wisemenkom

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 99
System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« on: May 12, 2007, 22:13:03 »

I would like yo know before I purchased the game and could'nt run it. If I have to I will purchase another system just for this game. Thanks!
Logged
L. Davis

alexmack

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2007, 00:28:30 »

well shipsim 2006 work for me its like I have tons of simulators there's a train simulator that you can try.
well good luck!!!
Logged

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 11:56:45 »

Here they are:

Operating system: Windows 2000, XP or Vista
Processor: Pentium 4 3GHz or AMD equivalent
Memory: 1GB
Graphics card: GeForce 5900 or ATI X700
Audio devices: Sound card
Input controller: Mouse with scroll wheel
Optional controllers: Joystick, Joypad or Steering wheel



This is off the new Ship Simulator 2008 website.



http://2008.shipsim.com/
 
Logged
Best Regards
Kevin

chrism

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 27
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 23:30:10 »

I have a P4 1.6 with 512 mb and 80 gb hardrive
with a GeForce 5200 graphics card. I see that the requires 5900, do i have to go ot and buy a whole new card just for the game to run?
Logged

Master Captain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1842
    • Elitefun Arcade & Forum
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2007, 02:35:55 »

i'm good to go, 1.5 gb memory, Pentium D dual core processor, Windows XP, GeForce 6200 SE, Realtek HD sound card. and ofcourse a mouse. KM
Logged

KDS

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2007, 11:24:02 »

I'm ok aswell but only just!  ;)
Logged
Best Regards
Kevin

Timbo

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 86
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2007, 20:47:13 »

Hi VStep,
            Just want to know will my graphic card work or will i have to get a new one ?,
or could it work or not ?

                           Cheers Timbo  :)

 GeForce 5900 Only Have Geforce FX5600


 
 
   
« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 21:30:17 by Timbo »
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2007, 21:31:36 »

Please see www.shipsim2008.com for details
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Britannic

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 193
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2007, 15:22:43 »

Ive been frequently visiting ss08 site and have noticed that the cpu speed has gone down from 3ghz to 2.4ghz. This I am VERY glad about as I only have a 2ghz athlon X2. Will ss08 be able to thread across mulitple cores as this would boost performance incredibly! Thanks for the drop, guys! Any more predicted?

i have a geforce 6100 nforce 405. Will this be ok for ss08?

thanks a tonnes,
     Britannic.
Logged
When Ive finished Media college Ive got many desired jobs, one being; Simulator making!

James89uk

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 33
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2007, 22:18:22 »

Please remember that the minimum system requirements are the absolute bare minimum for being able to run the game/simulation (depending on how you look at it) but I notice VStep has not released the recommended requirements which are usually a little higher than the minimum ones.  If you are borderline then if and when they release a demo, download it and test it first.

Unfortunately many people in a variety of games (e.g. Microsoft Flight Simulator X, Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 to name just a few) are disappointed with performance - their computer may exceed the requirements printed on the box, but chances are you'll need to have the settings turned right down.  Of course this is only speculation (SS08 might be different) but from past experience you don't want to only just pass the minimum requirements unless you can help it.  With respect, try to make sacrifices in your spending and upgrade in order to enjoy SS2008 to the full - it'll be worth it!
Logged

Maik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 221
    • www.autoinformatief.com
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2007, 07:38:49 »

I have an ATI Radeon 9600, is this higher than the requered x700 or not? Don't have much knowledge about those things to bo honoust...
Logged

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2007, 10:04:53 »

I have an ATI Radeon 9600, is this higher than the requered x700 or not? Don't have much knowledge about those things to bo honoust...

Hiya :)

Here are some links for you to compare the 2 cards:

9600 Series - Specifications
x700 Series - Specifications

Looking at them, the x700 is more up-to-date technology.  I personally use an nVidia card, so I'm not really informed about ATI cards  ::)

Hope this helps :)

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

Mr Robville

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2901
    • Robville Virtual Realisations
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2007, 11:52:02 »

well, the system requirements are not always as they are noticed, like the expansion pack says that you need 1gb ram, but i have only 500 and the game still works smooth  :)
Logged

       www.Robville.net                        Please do not contact me personally for technical support issues.

Maik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 221
    • www.autoinformatief.com
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2007, 16:41:04 »

Hiya :)

Here are some links for you to compare the 2 cards:

9600 Series - Specifications
x700 Series - Specifications

Looking at them, the x700 is more up-to-date technology.  I personally use an nVidia card, so I'm not really informed about ATI cards  ::)

Hope this helps :)

Regards.

DJM.


Does this mean i'm kinda screwed, I wasn't planning on buying a new pc for the time being....
Logged

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2007, 18:38:02 »


Does this mean i'm kinda sc****d, I wasn't planning on buying a new pc for the time being....

That depends on your PC specifications, it may be possible to get a better card if you only have an AGP slot (instead of PCI-e).  I'm not certain which models of ATI card are available, but nVidia do have AGP cards that will allow you to run recent games with no problems.

It may be worth checking ATI's site or contact their sales department for advice ;)

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

Maik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 221
    • www.autoinformatief.com
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2007, 20:40:02 »

That depends on your PC specifications, it may be possible to get a better card if you only have an AGP slot (instead of PCI-e).  I'm not certain which models of ATI card are available, but nVidia do have AGP cards that will allow you to run recent games with no problems.

It may be worth checking ATI's site or contact their sales department for advice ;)

Regards.

DJM.

Well I have absolutly no idea wath you just said  :P Those slot things don't ring a bell. But I have an 3.06 processor with 1536 ddr memory. Is this good enough then or does it depend on more or other things.
Logged

Stuart2007

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 6201
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2007, 21:34:53 »

My Pentium 4 is just over the minimum - about 2.4-2.6 and runs ok. (prefer my old AMD!)

Ive removed a damaged memory module and now runs very poor. Make sure you have lots of memory. No point getting a great processor if low memory

Your graphics will run quicker with AGP, true enough. But only the graphics is affected. The rest of the game engine (which I imagine is the bulk of the processing) needs a good processor and LOTS of memory.

stu
« Last Edit: June 03, 2007, 21:36:54 by Stuart2007 »
Logged
Join the campaign for 'Pride of Bilbao' and SSE (on one disc).... Model by TFM ship builders.

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2007, 23:48:49 »

I have an 3.06 processor with 1536 ddr memory. Is this good enough then or does it depend on more or other things.

It depends on a number of factors, usually if you have enough RAM, a good CPU and a good graphics card, you should be fine ;)

Bear in mind though that there are many different types of RAM, Graphics cards and CPU's available, each with advantages AND disadvantages ;)

As the advice above suggests, find out which devices you have connected to your PC.  Google the information you find, specifically motherboard model, there are sites that will tell you exactly what is available and compatible with your PC/Motherboard for upgrading purposes.

As Luc suggests, Tom's Hardware is great for getting advice ;D

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.

Maik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 221
    • www.autoinformatief.com
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2007, 17:29:20 »


To know what it is, (Start, execute-> left below of the desktop... my OSes are in French) and type dxdiag, you will find all the info you need under the various tabs. (System, display tabs, ...).
With these data, you will receive advices more to the point.
Regards
Luc

Could you type that in dutch please?(Hope you know how but I see youre from belgium ;)  ;) Because I don't know exactly what things I need. Except start ofcourse I van find that one. But what is execute and the rest ???

And than I can post whatever it ses than and you will be albe to tell me if it's a good computer??

Thanks in advance....
Logged

Eemspoort

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 372
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2007, 18:23:47 »

Start>Uitvoeren> tik in: dxdiag

De rest van wat er staat snap je vast wel. ;)
Logged
m/s "Eemspoort"
1961, Hilgers A.G.-Rheinbröhl
76,2 x 8,20 x 2,72 mtr, 1085 ton
Deutz RBV 6 M 545, 800 HP @ 380 rpm
Daf KMD 250.2, 250 HP @ 1800 rpm, bowthruster

Eemspoort

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 372
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #20 on: June 04, 2007, 18:35:39 »

Your welcome! My French ain't all that... :-\ Never managed to get further then Avalant and Montant, Ecluse, bateau, chargé, and dechargé,  ;D
Logged
m/s "Eemspoort"
1961, Hilgers A.G.-Rheinbröhl
76,2 x 8,20 x 2,72 mtr, 1085 ton
Deutz RBV 6 M 545, 800 HP @ 380 rpm
Daf KMD 250.2, 250 HP @ 1800 rpm, bowthruster

Maik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 221
    • www.autoinformatief.com
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #21 on: June 04, 2007, 19:07:57 »

Wel both thanks!!!

Going to try it out tomorrow of I got the time. I will post the outcome here  tomorrow  ;)
Logged

matt105

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 165
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2007, 10:04:30 »

Hmmmm...

My comp has only got 1.7 ghz processor and 256mb ram..lol!
and 80 Gb hard drive... But new comp i get i'll for sure have:

3.0 ghz processor
1 gb ram
160 gb hardrive
and graphic requirements
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #23 on: June 05, 2007, 11:13:41 »

Looks like I should get a gig of ram and a new video card for safety sake. DAMN
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Eemspoort

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 372
Re: System requirements for Ship Sim 2008
« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2007, 13:58:15 »

Well....i don't know what to expect, really. I have a Pentium 4 2,6 Ghz, 2 Gig's of ram, and a nVidia GeForce FX 5600 vid-card with 265mb ram. But SS06 never really runned smooth. So i geuss, i can't run SS08.
I'm considdering a new vid-card (7600GS?), but i'm not sure if it would do the trick... ???
Logged
m/s "Eemspoort"
1961, Hilgers A.G.-Rheinbröhl
76,2 x 8,20 x 2,72 mtr, 1085 ton
Deutz RBV 6 M 545, 800 HP @ 380 rpm
Daf KMD 250.2, 250 HP @ 1800 rpm, bowthruster
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines