Hello Guest February 25, 2021, 20:12:28 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Ship Sim Set-Up  (Read 10333 times)

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Ship Sim Set-Up
« on: May 09, 2007, 22:43:11 »

Have an awesome desktop set up you use when you play Ship Sim?


SHOW IT TO US!
Submit a pic of your desktop and all your gear that you use when playing Ship Sim.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2007, 22:43:55 »

Sadly, for me, nothing to show. All I use is a 22inch Gateway flatscreen, my wireless mouse, and just the keyboard. I hope to get a killer set up going soon.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2007, 22:45:39 »

I am also looking for a nice wheel and throttle set up . . . Ideas welcome.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2007, 22:52:32 »

I have a 32" screen, and Saitek X52 http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/x52.htm, which works very good actually.
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2007, 22:53:16 »

What are your programmables on the the Saitek?
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2007, 22:57:17 »

What do you mean, what the buttons are asigned to?
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 22:59:53 »

Yulp.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2007, 23:05:07 »

Ah, it's randomized from the game, don't know where I can change it, but it works very good, if I pull the trigger i can steer the right throttle with that, and left throttle with the joystick throttle. The 3 buttons down on the joystick is for the compass, gps and the map, so it's really great.
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2007, 23:18:47 »

Any individual thruster control on the the throttle buttons?
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2007, 23:25:10 »

I just turn the joystick to turn the thrusters
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2007, 23:30:13 »

Ah, so that just functions bow thrusters. What about stern?
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2007, 23:37:31 »

You steer bow and stern thrusters with the 3D rudder twist, to steer rudder you just move the joystick, but by holding in the trigger it's like having two joystick for the in game throttles, this is very good for steering when going slow to dock and so on, but not at speed.
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2007, 23:48:20 »

Hrm . . . Sounds interesting. I hope Ship Simulator 2008 will have external control programmability.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2007, 23:53:59 »

Yes, I hope a lot for the game, multiplayer and all the other stuff, crane onboard the ship you can steer, and also a small but important thing, the mooring system, in 2006 this isn't good, I hope you can moore and unmoore on the same place how much you want in 2008
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2007, 00:43:41 »

As well as moore and unmoore ships while you are "tuggin"
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

ChiefEagle

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2007, 13:02:48 »

Yes, that is a small but important thing we must have
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2007, 21:08:39 »

Every other game has that feature . . . ;D
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Ship Sim

  • Guest
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2007, 00:05:25 »

I have a gray and black box next to me which is my brain. And a black and gray box in front of me which is my monitor.
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2007, 07:43:40 »

???  :D
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Captain Rhys

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 38
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2007, 22:37:21 »

I use the G25 steering wheel. Gear stick for throttle (but for the powerboat missions i prefer to use the accelerator) and the wheel to steer :D
Logged
Regards,
           Rhys

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2007, 23:41:32 »

Ha ha ha sounds great!
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

jalapino

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2007, 07:12:38 »

I have breadboarded a new control setup and am now about to build the panel.

It uses the USB interface and appears as an HID game controller.

It has slider controls for port and starboard throttles, steering and bowthruster. These work on the absolute position of the slider.

It also has buttons for throttle up, throttle down, throttle centre and wheel to port, to starboard and centre.

Further buttons provide horn, chart zoom in & out, tie up, cast off, next/previous WP/vessel, Show/hide chart, show/hide objectives, hide all controls.

I can create additional buttons and assign them to any keystrokes.

In the settings I have had to select the Saitek AV8R-01, as this seems to be the only one that recognises the full set of controls. Unfortunately it does not seem to distinguish between bow and stern thrusters - it operates the two together (on the cruiseliner at least).

Unfortunately I have not been able to find any documentation on how shipsim uses the HID game controller, so it has all been trial and error.

Anyway, I have all the above working and now it is time to build the sliders and buttons into a panel. When I have that finished I will post a picture.
Logged

muns

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 155
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2007, 11:29:39 »

I have breadboarded a new control setup and am now about to build the panel.

It uses the USB interface and appears as an HID game controller.

It has slider controls for port and starboard throttles, steering and bowthruster. These work on the absolute position of the slider.

It also has buttons for throttle up, throttle down, throttle centre and wheel to port, to starboard and centre.

Further buttons provide horn, chart zoom in & out, tie up, cast off, next/previous WP/vessel, Show/hide chart, show/hide objectives, hide all controls.

I can create additional buttons and assign them to any keystrokes.

In the settings I have had to select the Saitek AV8R-01, as this seems to be the only one that recognises the full set of controls. Unfortunately it does not seem to distinguish between bow and stern thrusters - it operates the two together (on the cruiseliner at least).

Unfortunately I have not been able to find any documentation on how shipsim uses the HID game controller, so it has all been trial and error.

Anyway, I have all the above working and now it is time to build the sliders and buttons into a panel. When I have that finished I will post a picture.

Very interesting,  any chance of the circuit diagram and a component list? I look forward to seeing the finnished article.

Cheers Mark
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2007, 05:58:25 »

I would like to see photos of this project.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

muns

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 155
Re: Ship Sim Set-Up
« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2007, 07:54:23 »

I intend to try and bring to market (if there is enough demand!) a ships console for use with Ship Simulator (and Virtual Sailor) but we are holding off until we see the control options within SS2008.

So any ideas/suggestions would be helpful.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines