Hello Guest July 27, 2024, 14:32:22 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Becker Rudders MISSING!  (Read 18723 times)

joelang1699

• Forum member
Becker Rudders MISSING!
« on: January 17, 2009, 00:39:54 »

Hi Guys

First off im a Merchant Navy Officer with a good bit of RO-PAX experience so as soon as I had a go of the Pride of Rotterdam I noticed one obvious major thing, she has a standard rudder setup I.E. she dosnt have split rudders, they are on the same tiller...also they cant go hard over to give 90 deg thrust. This is quite a pain as its much harder to swing her stern in Rotterdam than it would be on the real ship. The ship in the game is no where near as maneuverable as the real one.

Could it be im missing something here?

Master Captain

• Forum member
Re: Becker Rudders MISSING!
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 01:38:41 »

as far as i know this models turning radius is correct, VSTEP put alot of time into making sure data like this was exact, but then again i could be wrong ::)

joelang1699

• Forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 02:02:35 »

They should have looked at her steering more closely, but then again it could be worse

firestar12

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 04:43:39 »

They should have looked at her steering more closely, but then again it could be worse
Why don't you take a look at this topic, I think it might be of particular interest to you.
http://www.shipsim.com/ShipSimForum/index.php/topic,9277.0.html

Agent|Austin

• Forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2009, 04:59:05 »

Joelang1699,

From your comments it doesn't seem you have ever piloted or researched the Pride of Rotterdam?

VSTEP modeled her rudder and maximum rudder angle according to the real vessels specifications. Her maximum rotation is also accurate.

Captain Darling

• Forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2009, 05:45:26 »