Hello Guest June 25, 2024, 01:24:20 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Where does VSTEP draw the line?  (Read 11048 times)

firestar12

  • Guest
Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« on: October 04, 2008, 14:51:15 »

Well, Many of us have learned that Ship Simulator requires a top-spec PC and some of us (Like me) Am learning it the hard way by adding more stuff we need to to it. But where will they draw the line? What if they keep going on? Its obvious that they cant keep asking for more speedy processors and more ram and a better graphics card each Version. So where will they draw the line? Here is for us to discuss that.
Logged

mvsmith

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2008, 15:19:24 »

As long as you keep asking for things like working lifeboats and cranes, more interiors for walkabout, more realistic waves, and people milling about, the requirements for your PC will continue to increase.
Be prepared to keep upgrading or replacing your system as VSTEP responds to all those demands.
Logged

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2008, 15:26:17 »

As long as you keep asking for things like working lifeboats and cranes, more interiors for walkabout, more realistic waves, and people milling about, the requirements for your PC will continue to increase.
Be prepared to keep upgrading or replacing your system as VSTEP responds to all those demands.

Well, I believe We should take it one step at a time. Its silly for people to ask "Hey Vstep, Give us Lifeboats, More Easter eggs, A dozen New ships, More realistic waves, More Accurate PoR All in the next Patch/version" And People out there DO do that, so they should slow down a bit. Im not saying anoything bad, But none of us want to keep buying a new processor every x year(s)
Logged

llamalord

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2590
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2008, 15:31:45 »

In a simple 1 word answer...

Never!
Logged
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"


www.llamalord

marcstrat

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2626
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2008, 15:40:39 »

Greetings,
Well,my oppinion is,we will have to buy new stuff anyway,and not only for Vstep.
Videocards you buy now,will be old tommorow,and this just an example!
The game will get bigger,and more advanced ,so your system has to follow to get the best quality out of it.
It is with all the games.
This is also the reason why i have still my old case of the computer,there is lots of space to extend.
Marc
Logged
N

Bottman

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3536
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2008, 16:28:04 »

Well, maybe some efforts could be done for reducing the specs instead of blowing them up? Just an idea...
Logged
Bottman

Navigare necesse est!
Look at www.elbdampfer-hamburg.de

Agent|Austin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 4817
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2008, 18:07:45 »

VSTEP makes the best game they can, and  if you want to play it you should be up to specs. But VSTEP requirments are not that high, they are just about what any other3D game is now.
Logged

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2008, 18:12:52 »

VSTEP makes the best game they can, and  if you want to play it you should be up to specs. But VSTEP requirments are not that high, they are just about what any other3D game is now.
I know, But im worried they wil begin to ask for 7000 MB of ram and 6GHz Processor Thats what i dont want to happen.
Logged

llamalord

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2590
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2008, 19:26:59 »

The 6GHz is projected to happen in the Spring of 2010... ;)
Logged
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"


www.llamalord

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2008, 19:27:20 »

The 6GHz is projected to happen in the Spring of 2010... ;)
ARE YOU FOR REAL?!
Logged

llamalord

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2590
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2008, 19:55:20 »

Yup, that's what they say. ::)
Logged
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"


www.llamalord

TerryRussell

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2008, 19:57:43 »

I thought it had been revised to 8 GHz? With 128 bit Windows 7 and 128 GB of RAM?

Or was I dreaming of my next PC?
Logged

Person264

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 789
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #12 on: October 04, 2008, 20:00:14 »

8Ghz and 8 cores.
Firestar, you don't expect computer development to just stop do you? That's like saying, hey, i've got a horse and cart, who needs a car, I'll just amble along and watch the world pass by
Logged

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2008, 20:01:35 »

8Ghz and 8 cores.
Firestar, you don't expect computer development to just stop do you? That's like saying, hey, i've got a horse and cart, who needs a car, I'll just amble along and watch the world pass by
Well, Howcome Iraqi Arabs use camels?
Logged

Person264

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 789
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2008, 20:03:13 »

Because they live a different lifestyle and cars don't work very well in deserts
Would you like to use a camel in your everyday life instead of a car? E.g to go on holiday or go to work
Logged

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2008, 20:04:14 »

Because they live a different lifestyle and cars don't work very well in deserts
lol. Rhetorical Question. And also. 8 Cores. And ShipSim will only use 1 of them. lol. 
Logged

Person264

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 789
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2008, 20:06:21 »

lol. ok. rhetorical question on forum?. 8 cores. ShipSim could (in the future.) use more than one. 8 cores. computers aren't just built for shipsim. some things can use 8 cores. lol.
Logged

firestar12

  • Guest
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2008, 20:07:54 »

lol. ok. rhetorical question on forum?. 8 cores. ShipSim could (in the future.) use more than one. 8 cores. computers aren't just built for shipsim. some things can use 8 cores. lol.
Like my sister Crystal's Treadmill.
Logged

ABCRic

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 149
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2008, 20:20:39 »

Processor: Intel Ultimate Power Ten-core 10Ghz :o
RAM: 300GB ::)
Operating System: Windows Universe-in-a-PC 8) (ver24.667345527.903) (512 bit)
Paging File: 3000GB :P
DirectX Version: InstantZ 57.c ;D
Graphics Card: NNNVIDIA MachForce Go 27400, 20Gb Video Memory
Max Screen Resolution: 14670 x 9450 :o; Color: 128Bit; Refresh Rate: 500hz
 ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D
Am I missing something?
Logged
What should I write here?

JHB

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1457
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2008, 20:22:06 »

The next generation PC's will have a processor where the GPU is a part of it. The CPU and the GPU will melt together. The DirectX version which will use this is DirectX 11 (which depends on the new Windows 7)
(..just recently been reading this at Norway's most popular computer hardware news site) ;)

Anyway...when will DirectX 10 graphics come to Ship Simulator...or is it already supported?
Talking about draw the line here if DirectX 10 still isn't avaiable for this game... :P
Logged

llamalord

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2590
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2008, 20:38:15 »

It's a terrible fact that the human eye only has a refresh rate of ~40 Hz ::)
Logged
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"


www.llamalord

The Captain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 877
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2008, 20:46:45 »

I see fine ;D.

And going back to this, I also don't think that the specs are too much to ask for, but I am most certantly not spending my money every year on new computer parts and what not just because a game requires it. That is just plain rediculus. The computer was not created for playing a video game people, it was created for sending messages to military commanders so that they could get information withought the enemy reading the information like they could hear it on the phone. True it is nice of the advancement, but you must think to yourselfs how much money you spend on something that is for an ammusemnt rather than a neccesity. That is where I draw my line ;D.
Logged

RMS Gigantic

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2601
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2008, 20:51:07 »

(1)In (2)a (3)simple (4)1 (5)word (6)answer...

(7)Never!
7 words, actually ;D :P

Anyway, I think I'm good for a fair number more releases ;D
Logged

llamalord

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2590
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2008, 20:52:04 »

7 words, actually ;D :P

Anyway, I think I'm good for a fair number more releases ;D

What if the answer was just the word "Never!" ::)
Logged
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"


www.llamalord

RMS Gigantic

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2601
Re: Where does VSTEP draw the line?
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2008, 20:55:06 »

What if the answer was just the word "Never!" ::)
You still had more than one word in it.

Oh, well :P
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines