Hello Guest July 27, 2024, 01:39:04 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Lots of Newbie Questions and a few Wish List items  (Read 12029 times)

Barnacle

• Forum member
Lots of Newbie Questions and a few Wish List items
« on: June 08, 2008, 17:07:26 »

I’m a real newbie to Ship Simulator.  I downloaded the demo version, ran the demo mission a couple of times…and bought the program.  I printed the User Guide and reviewed it, then took a deep breath and started the program.

I started with a free roaming session.  I chose the harbor tug, New York Harbor, and a bland but pleasant day with no wind and excellent visibility.  I steamed to the Statue of Liberty, rounded it to port, and tried to tie up at the dock.  Then I pulled away from the pier and tried to anchor.

I came up with a bunch of questions, a couple of comments, and a couple of wish-list items.  They’re listed below (in no particular order:  the numbers are for reference).

Definitions needed
There are a number of terms and acronyms I don’t understand and can’t find definitions for in the Ship Simulator 2008 User Guide:
1.   On the Information Panel at the right of the compass:  CTW (Course to Waypoint?), TWD and AWD.
2.   Precision Steering
3.   What is the difference between rotating the camera and panning it?

I’m sure there are others, but I haven’t noticed them yet.
Questions and Observations
  • 1.  I couldn’t get to the Helmsman’s view with the mouse wheel.  (I found it with the 1 key.)  Is this a documentation error?
  • 2.  The binoculars work in Helmsman’s View only.  Shouldn’t they work in the external view?
  • 3.  I couldn’t move the chart or resize it except to make it full screen.  (I was able to zoom in and out.)  This may be a wish list item, but it would be very nice to be able to place the chart anywhere on the screen and make it whatever size I wanted it.