Hello Guest March 07, 2021, 15:42:06 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Futher view Distance  (Read 2863 times)

avignale2

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Futher view Distance
« on: July 01, 2007, 05:40:25 »

Hello, i've been playing this demo and i might wanna buy the game, but when i turn the view distance in the graphics to max, far away ships are still invisible? is there a special way or something to like go into the config file nd change something as to bypass the graphics options? or is the maxe view distance hard coded?
Logged

Captain Davies

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 508
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2007, 12:08:27 »

I don't think so, but remember, Ship Simulator 2008 is nearing release, so you may want to wait for that as the view distance will surely have been improved.  ;)
Logged

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2007, 12:25:57 »

Maximum view distance seems to have a lot to do with one's graphics system.

Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

avignale2

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2007, 09:43:31 »

Maximum view distance seems to have a lot to do with one's graphics system.



my graphics is sufficient to do a lot better then the view distance im getting, i wnt to be able to see ships from     heaps heaps heaps far away
Logged

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2007, 12:13:26 »

In the real world that isn't always possible! ;D
Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

avignale2

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2007, 06:39:47 »

in the rel world, ships don't magically appear 3000 ft in front of you on a sunny clear day either
Logged

Stuart2007

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 6201
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2007, 12:58:34 »

I thought they did gradually appear in SS- maybe too close (depending on your graphics card etc) but they do appear gradually- like looking at a ship in a mild mist.

Stu
Logged
Join the campaign for 'Pride of Bilbao' and SSE (on one disc).... Model by TFM ship builders.

avignale2

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 32
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2007, 03:03:17 »

it seems an obvious memory leak plagues this game, bb
Logged

Stuart2007

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 6201
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2007, 23:00:14 »

it seems an obvious memory leak plagues this game, bb

Do what?

Stu
Logged
Join the campaign for 'Pride of Bilbao' and SSE (on one disc).... Model by TFM ship builders.

mporter

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 184
    • Marine Design
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2007, 01:06:15 »

it seems an obvious memory leak plagues this game, bb

Yes, that is clear in that one has to restart the game to change playing venues. Or perhaps it's garbage collection.  Either way not good. :( :(

I wouldn't think that should affect view distance, though.

Cheers,
Michael
Logged
Michael Porter Marine Design
www.mp-marine.com

Stuart2007

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 6201
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2007, 12:11:08 »

Ah, I see... Memory fragmentation. That is a fault with the computer/os not the sim. ANY high memory program has this problem, although not always as noticable.

Win XP is better for memory management (is is not basically using the NT engine???). Win 98 and ME especially was appaling for memory management.

I'm afraid you can't blame vstep for this one.

Stu
Logged
Join the campaign for 'Pride of Bilbao' and SSE (on one disc).... Model by TFM ship builders.

[RWP]DJM

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7004
    • DJM Online
Re: Futher view Distance
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2007, 12:52:37 »

Ah, I see... Memory fragmentation. That is a fault with the computer/os not the sim. ANY high memory program has this problem, although not always as noticable.

Win XP is better for memory management (is is not basically using the NT engine???). Win 98 and ME especially was appaling for memory management.

I'm afraid you can't blame vstep for this one.

Stu


Indeed, XP is based around the NT engine, makes for a more stable environment and better management of resources ;)

There are tweaks available inside most operating systems for even more control over resources, but these can be difficult if you are a beginner to computer operation.

Regards.

DJM.
Logged
RNIB - Supporting Blind & Partially Sighted People.

I am no longer a member of the Moderation team, so please send any messages about licence key issues to a currently active member of the team.  Thank you.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines