Hello Guest April 26, 2024, 22:01:22 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Would this computer work with SSE  (Read 1970 times)

Casey13

• Forum member
Would this computer work with SSE
« on: March 12, 2011, 23:02:14 »

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gamer_Xtreme_SI/#&manufacturer=CyberPower&processor=Core

It looks good, but I need some expert advice (which is from all you people).

Sorry to be wasting your time with this but I know nothing about the parts of a computer.

Also, if there is any specific parts I should get, then just say so. However I am trying to maintain a minimum budget.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2011, 23:04:16 by Casey13 »

ac_freeman

• Forum member
Re: Would this computer work with SSE
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 01:25:27 »

Hi Casey,

First of all let me say that I am not an expert - comparing to my system, your processor is 3.2GHz whereas mine is 3.4GHz, my Graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 4800 whereas yours is ( I think a later model ), 8GB RAM is the same - I get very good performance on SSE with all graphics set to maximum detail so on that basis I would think you should be fine with this build........there are probably others on this Forum far better qualified than me to comment though :-)

regards,

Andy

vin_sun

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 07:21:18 »

Hi Casey,

Remember me ? :D I had configured an Intel rig for you in January for your budget of $700.  ;D

Looks like your budget has pretty much increased  ;D ;D

OK, here's the deal. I checked out Tigerdirect.com and Newegg.com for price comparison of the various components and the total is very close to the $1570 Cyberpower is quoting. My observations are as follows:-

- The processor, RAM and graphics card are all fairly high end.

- The Samsung Blu Ray / DVD R-RW combo is a good feature.

- Hard disk is good with 1TB storage.