Hello Guest September 08, 2024, 02:05:53 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New Skipper needs help  (Read 2671 times)

Azipod

• Forum member
New Skipper needs help
« on: January 23, 2009, 07:13:41 »

Hi, I'm new to Ship Simulator and have a few questions.

1)  On the Ocean-Star, can you steer the ship if the engine is at 0 RPM?  For example, if the engine is at idle and I am coasting, I cannot seem to steer the ship regardless what angle the azipod thrusters are set at.  The only way I can steer the ship is to turn the thrusters and apply engine RPM.  Is this normal? 

2)  Sometimes in Walk-Through mode, I suddenly fall overboard and into the water.   How did I fall over and is there any way to get back on?

3)  Once the ship receives damage, is there anyway to repair it without restarting the session?

4)  When I steer the Ocean-Star, the ship likes to list to one side.  Normal ?

THANK YOU!!!!

Mad_Fred

• Administrator
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: New Skipper needs help
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 07:26:14 »

Hi Azipod, and welcome to the forum!!

1) You'll need power to steer her. I'm sure in real life the pods will give some rate of turning, like a rudder, under an angle, but not in the game as far as I know... and although I'm no expert, I think even in real life, this is pretty minimal.

2) a little bug in the collision model (bounding edges in walkthrough), you cannot get back on, unfortunatly.

3) Nope, there is not. Damage stays all through the mission.

4) Depends, if you steer it violently, it will list.. so for the comfort of the passengers, it's best to take it easy.  :)

Regards,
Fred

P.S. moved to General Discussions, the main SS08 board is only for demo related content.

Agent|Austin

• Forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 07:31:56 »

Hi Azipod, and welcome to the forum!!