Hello Guest June 15, 2024, 17:59:05 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?  (Read 14530 times)

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« on: November 10, 2008, 23:42:08 »

I will playing this level alot, but I just can't! It takes the ship to long to turn, so I bump into things! I tried going slow but the other ships sink me, while I am sailing slow! Please help!
Logged

RMSGreatBritain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1450
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 08:18:03 »

Have you tried using bow thrusters? If you are a complete stop, put the bow throusters on whichever way you want to go and the ship wil turn on a pin head.
Logged
DiamondEagleDB09rms On youtube! Now with New Playlist!
<br />Thanks to TJK for this awesome Sig!

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2008, 09:18:44 »

Have you tried using bow thrusters? If you are a complete stop, put the bow throusters on whichever way you want to go and the ship wil turn on a pin head.
what's a "bow thrusters"? And how do I use them?
Logged

RMSGreatBritain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1450
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 17:20:01 »

See the attachment. In the yellow box is the controls for the bow thrusters. If you want to go to the left, you put the central lever (in the blue circle) to the left, past the end of the red marker. If you want to go right, you put the lever to the right past the end of the green marker. if at a complte stop, you will turn completely like your spinning, only slower than spinning. Also see your brochure with the game for extra help.
Logged
DiamondEagleDB09rms On youtube! Now with New Playlist!
<br />Thanks to TJK for this awesome Sig!

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 18:55:41 »

See the attachment. In the yellow box is the controls for the bow thrusters. If you want to go to the left, you put the central lever (in the blue circle) to the left, past the end of the red marker. If you want to go right, you put the lever to the right past the end of the green marker. if at a complte stop, you will turn completely like your spinning, only slower than spinning. Also see your brochure with the game for extra help.
Yeah but the cargo ship is diffrent, not like in the picture, so it has diffrent controls!
Logged

RMSGreatBritain

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1450
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2008, 19:48:11 »

Yeah but the cargo ship is diffrent, not like in the picture, so it has diffrent controls!

Oh sorry I thought you meant the container ship, sorry, send me a picture of the ship you mean.
Logged
DiamondEagleDB09rms On youtube! Now with New Playlist!
<br />Thanks to TJK for this awesome Sig!

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2008, 23:23:06 »

Oh sorry I thought you meant the container ship, sorry, send me a picture of the ship you mean.
>:( Grrr! The game is not working, so I can't get the pic!  >:(
But the mission is in Ship Sim 2006 Add-on, and the mission is: 002 - Move some containers between 2 harbour areas.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 23:24:39 by andrewthebestes »
Logged

Kapn Jonah

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1663
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2008, 00:25:59 »

he means the Lattitude, or is it the Agile Solution?
Logged
Regards,
Jonah

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2008, 16:33:00 »

he means the Lattitude, or is it the Agile Solution?

What the heck is a Lattitude and Agile Solution?
 
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2008, 16:41:06 »

Those are two ships from SS08.
The Agile solution is also in the SS06 addon.

I haven't got SS2006 installed, but it's either the container barge or the (small) container ship, that you are having these troubles with, right?

Also, the image that was posted is from SS08, not SS06. There is a similar control in SS06 though. You can rotate the ship by using the bow thruster. That's the little joystick, above the rudder control, see picture below.




Hope this helps.

Regards,
Fred
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2008, 17:32:50 »

Those are two ships from SS08.
The Agile solution is also in the SS06 addon.

I haven't got SS2006 installed, but it's either the container barge or the (small) container ship, that you are having these troubles with, right?

Also, the image that was posted is from SS08, not SS06. There is a similar control in SS06 though. You can rotate the ship by using the bow thruster. That's the little joystick, above the rudder control, see picture below.




Hope this helps.

Regards,
Fred

I am using that, but it still doesn't help!!
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2008, 17:44:28 »

The thruster only works is you are going very slow, or when you  are not in motion at all.

Perhaps you are sailing too fast to make the proper turns, so I'd suggest slowing down, and thinking much further ahead (with an eye on the radar/map aswell)

Taking it slower, planning turns (judging traffic etc) and using all the controls at your disposal the way they are meant to be used, will work!

Regards,
FRed
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2008, 18:02:42 »

The thruster only works is you are going very slow, or when you  are not in motion at all.

Perhaps you are sailing too fast to make the proper turns, so I'd suggest slowing down, and thinking much further ahead (with an eye on the radar/map aswell)

Taking it slower, planning turns (judging traffic etc) and using all the controls at your disposal the way they are meant to be used, will work!

Regards,
FRed

Wow thanks! This helps!!!!!!
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2008, 18:06:22 »

No problem!!  :)
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2008, 18:07:46 »

No problem!!  :)

Wow! Your not mad at all!
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #15 on: November 12, 2008, 18:54:41 »

 ;D

I can be serious too, at times.
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #16 on: November 12, 2008, 18:56:35 »

OMG! this has been read a 100 times!
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2008, 09:32:14 »

Uh Oh! There is an another problem!  >:(  :(
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #18 on: November 18, 2008, 14:29:57 »

What's wrong?
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2008, 16:27:19 »

What's wrong?

I get a problem with the ships which I can't control. Sometimes they just go right to me, and sink me!
Logged

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
  • ✝ In Memoriam
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2008, 16:36:38 »

Yes, that is unfortunatly how these AI ships work. They go around as 'puppets on a string' and don't really think for themselves. They just follow their pathways as mindless drones.

You have to look ahead, and plan your manuevering well ahead aswell. Try to avoid THEM, they will not do anything to avoid YOU!

It's the way the game works, I'm afraid.

Regards,
Fred
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2008, 17:22:07 »

Yes, that is unfortunatly how these AI ships work. They go around as 'puppets on a string' and don't really think for themselves. They just follow their pathways as mindless drones.

You have to look ahead, and plan your manuevering well ahead aswell. Try to avoid THEM, they will not do anything to avoid YOU!

It's the way the game works, I'm afraid.

Regards,
Fred

Yeah, The Water Taxi missions are very easy because they turn fast so they can easily aviod other ships.
Logged

RMS Canada

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 897
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2008, 18:11:45 »

Different ships and boats in the game turn differently than each other.  It can be a pain sometimes.   
Logged
All ahead full!

TerryRussell

  • Guest
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2008, 20:11:04 »

In Ship Simulator 2008, the AI ships do at least try to avoid you. They aren't perfect, but much better, compared to the 2006 AI ships.

If you can afford it, get Ship Simulator 2008!
Logged

andrewthebestes

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 67
Re: How do I control the cargo ship at mission: 002?
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2008, 23:20:27 »

In Ship Simulator 2008, the AI ships do at least try to avoid you. They aren't perfect, but much better, compared to the 2006 AI ships.

If you can afford it, get Ship Simulator 2008!

Yeah IF I could afford it! I get the problem with SS2006A-OP!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines