Hello Guest October 07, 2024, 07:32:02 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: General Thoughts on ShipSim 2008 as a recent user...  (Read 2180 times)

DonQuixoteDeLaManche

• Forum member
General Thoughts on ShipSim 2008 as a recent user...
« on: April 12, 2009, 03:53:56 »

General Thoughts on ShipSim 2008 as a recent user...

OK, before I start, I am sure many of these topics have been discussed before elsewhere; but I am trying to put across my point of view and opinion on my observations ~ So don't start flaming me here please!

ShipSim 2008 has some stunningly Good Points as a realistic simulation game (and that is what it is ~ see comments below), which enables the complete beginner up to the semi-professional to actually experience ship handling at multiple levels, with a plethora of kit performance, and handling characteristics.

Many aspects of the game have have stunning graphics provided your PC is appropriately high performance equipped ~ ShipSim seems to always be nudging the upper boundaries of the average users' equipment; and here I take my first issue.

If, and this is a big IF, if VSTEP are marketing this as a game for serious use (and comments in the forum suggest this) then the average serious user is not necessarily going to have the level of PC that is required. Similarly, if ShipSim is primarily a game for higher equipped users then VSTEP need to accommodate two areas for the serious Gamer...