Hello Guest July 19, 2024, 00:41:04 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 

Poll

can this computer run SSE?

up to it
- 0 (0%)
might need some updats
- 0 (0%)
needs many updates
- 1 (16.7%)
not up to it
- 5 (83.3%)

Total Members Voted: 6


Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: can this computer run SSE?  (Read 6257 times)

vin_sun

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1260
Re: can this computer run SSE?
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2011, 10:49:12 »

found this (It's what boosts it up to $700)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-480M Dual Core Processor (2.66GHz, 3MB L3 Cache) with Turbo Boost up to 2.93GHz
anyways what is ghz stuff all about? What is the point

Hello Dex,

It is often said that opt for "boosts" only if you are comfortable with it. The geeks do it 'cos they know their computer's capabilities. "Boost" also raises the temperature of the processor. Attachment 1 is something which may explain it better.

As for Ghz it is the equivalent to speed. A car moving at 2 mph is slower than one moving at 3 mph. In the same manner 2 Ghz is  slower than 3 Ghz. So basically a processor at 3 Ghz will "process" the instructions it receives much faster than a 2 Ghz processor. Attachment 2 will offer some ideas.

So in SSE, a slow processor will not be able to process the instructions adequately. The sate of the sea is something that makes great demands on the processor so that YOU as the user will be able to see it in a very "realistic" way. When it is stormy the waves are high, the ship is rolling, the sea sprays are more ...... all this accounts for a lot of "instructions" being sent to the processor and it "computes" all this and you see it in a "realistic" manner on your monitor. A "slow speed" processor will not be able to accept so many "instructions" and since it cannot cope up, it will possibly not be able to send the "results" to the monitor ....... and then people yell "my SSE is not working" !!!! The Developers at Vstep have done a lot of research and hence have very definite reasons when they finally say that your computer will require a 3 Ghz processor as the minimum.

I hope all this is not Greek and Latin to you !! ;D

Regards
vin_sun
Logged
Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit.

Third Mate

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1600
Re: can this computer run SSE?
« Reply #26 on: April 19, 2011, 10:51:54 »

Vin, got a quick question, in order to upgrade your GHz what would it involve roughly?
Logged


THE 888 MARK
THE 999 MARK
THE 1111 MARK

vin_sun

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1260
Re: can this computer run SSE?
« Reply #27 on: April 19, 2011, 11:05:01 »

Vin, got a quick question, in order to upgrade your GHz what would it involve roughly?

Hi Third,

You mean upgrade the processor, right ?

First and foremost you have to figure if your existing motherboard will accept the new processor you have in mind. It has something to do with the "socket" on the MoBo in which your current processor is fitted into.

Intel has a disadvantage as whenever they release a new processor, motherboards have to be designed to accept that new processor. Your existing motherboard may not be able to accept the new Core i3 ~ i7 processors. The motherboard specs will tell you as to which processor it can accept.

In the case of AMD processors, they tend to make new processors in a manner that your existing motherboard can accept since the "socket" will be suitable for the new processor. This is called "backward compatible".

Never go and buy a new processor just because you think it's "cool" and you can afford it. You have to do some reading before you do that !

Regards
vin_sun
Logged
Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit.

Third Mate

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1600
Re: can this computer run SSE?
« Reply #28 on: April 19, 2011, 12:12:01 »

Hi Third,

You mean upgrade the processor, right ?

First and foremost you have to figure if your existing motherboard will accept the new processor you have in mind. It has something to do with the "socket" on the MoBo in which your current processor is fitted into.

Intel has a disadvantage as whenever they release a new processor, motherboards have to be designed to accept that new processor. Your existing motherboard may not be able to accept the new Core i3 ~ i7 processors. The motherboard specs will tell you as to which processor it can accept.

In the case of AMD processors, they tend to make new processors in a manner that your existing motherboard can accept since the "socket" will be suitable for the new processor. This is called "backward compatible".

Never go and buy a new processor just because you think it's "cool" and you can afford it. You have to do some reading before you do that !

Regards
vin_sun

Thanks for that Vin, that cleared up things up majorly  :thumbs:
Logged


THE 888 MARK
THE 999 MARK
THE 1111 MARK

vin_sun

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1260
Re: can this computer run SSE?
« Reply #29 on: April 19, 2011, 16:10:10 »

Thanks for that Vin, that cleared up things up majorly  :thumbs:

You're welcome. Third, please see the attachment which is a good guide for Socket - CPU compatibility. Identify the socket on your MoBo and refer the chart to see which processors it can accept. Similarly, if you have a particular processor on mind, then refer to the socket it is compatible with and then do your research for a MoBo which has that socket.

Regards
vin_sun
Logged
Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines