Hello Guest October 14, 2019, 02:43:30 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Crash  (Read 2244 times)

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Crash
« on: January 17, 2011, 14:15:10 »

Has anyone experienced the game constantly crashing before it starts?  I downloaded it from steam, it loads, sometimes initializes, and can get as far as asking for the i.d. number before ti crashes.  I have no idea why it's doing this, and at different places as well. Any help would be appreciated as I'm really looking forward to playing this game.
Logged

saltydog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7828
Re: Crash
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 14:17:56 »

Hi Andrew, perhaps you could try starting the game from the VStep folder..(worth a try)
Logged

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 14:34:39 »

Thanks for the quick reply.  You mean from the directory on my hard drive?  Nope, that doesn't work either.
Logged

LoneWolfDon

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 82
    • The RailRoad Yard
Re: Crash
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 17:16:33 »

Hi Andrew, and welcome to SSE.

A few suggestions to throw at you:

First, you should register your SSE's key to your account here on the forums. Info on that here:
http://80.95.161.114/shipsim/forum/index.php/topic,20398.0.html

Myself, I also got SSE via Steam and for the most part it works well enough.
To help ensure that you have a good installation and don't have any missing or corrupted files, I'd suggest to verify your installation. You can do this from your Steam-client, Library, Games, right-click on Ship Simulator Extremes, Properties, Local Files then Verify integrity of game cache. If it finds any missing or bad files it should reacquire them for you.

Before installing or running SSE, I'd also suggest to temporarily disable other programs such as anti-virus, messengers, etc.., as sometimes other programs running in the background could be causing conflicts.

See this other thread over here with a suggestion that might possibly help. If that doesn't seem to help, you can simply remove the line of code it suggests adding:
http://80.95.161.114/shipsim/forum/index.php/topic,23507.0.html

Post up your computer's specs / Dxdiag report so people can better give advice.

Of course, once you register your SSE with your account here, it's probably better to ask for technical help with SSE over on the technical forum.

Good luck. 
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 17:18:35 by LoneWolfDon »
Logged
Each day is a gift. Enjoy! :)

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 17:26:30 »

I verified the files; they are all okay.  I tried to go to the document you mention, but it isn't there.  I'll try disabling some of my background programs.  If that doesn't work, I'll just have to remove the game.  I've noticed several steam games won't run properly.  I'm wondering if there is a problem with steam.  Thanks for the help.
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 17:32:55 »

Hi,

Can you please register your licensekey in your profile to get acces to the technical support section of this forum.

Can you post your dxdiag so we can so of your pc is capealble to run SSE.

Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 17:42:18 »

Where can I find the dxdiag file?
Logged

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2011, 17:44:56 »

ok.. It's registered.
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2011, 17:48:31 »

If you have Windows 7 or Vista follow this link:
http://80.95.161.114/shipsim/forum/index.php/topic,23335.0.html
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 17:55:53 by Kobus Post »
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2011, 17:54:31 »

I'm running Vista
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2011, 17:55:38 »

forgot to say, for Windows Vista you can also follow that link
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2011, 18:01:33 »

Post it here?
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2011, 18:03:14 »

« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 18:04:55 by Kobus Post »
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2011, 18:05:08 »

Right.. got the file.  post it here?
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2011, 18:08:04 »

yes
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2011, 18:16:21 »

Edited it a bit for length

------------------
S
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 18:25:54 by Andrewatoz »
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2011, 18:20:59 »

Sorry, your pc is NOT able to run SSE.
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Andrewatoz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Crash
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2011, 18:22:00 »

What isn't up to snuff?  Is it something that can be upgraded?
Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Crash
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2011, 18:52:29 »

Your CPU is way below spec, can be upgraded.
You have an integrated graphic chip and they aren`t supported by SSE, You can add an dedicated graphic card.

Do you have an notebook or a pc?

If you have a notebook, you can`t upgrade it.
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

Captain Spencer

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 2956
    • Silverline Web Solutions
Re: Crash
« Reply #19 on: January 17, 2011, 23:14:09 »

Andrew,

Can you attach your DXDIAG to your next post please? You can do this by click the browse button when posting your reply, and selecting the file from your computer.

I can then tell you what might not be capable of running the game properly.

Cheers,
Adam
Logged
Artificial Intelligence beats Real Stupidity.<br />If at first you don\'t succeed, call it version 1.0.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines