Hello Guest April 18, 2021, 05:45:07 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 

Poll

Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?

Yes, I am 100% satisfied
Yes, I am satisfied but not 100%
I am not satisfied (why?)
I am completely not satisfied (why?)

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?  (Read 26983 times)

Aad The Pirate

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 2431
    • From a Hobby to an Addiction
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #25 on: January 07, 2011, 23:47:42 »

I voted the last option.
Why? A dramatic drop down of the FPS with about 50 %. A radarscreen degraded to a stationary map does not make things better, right?
Logged
Feel free to have a look @: http://members.chello.nl/a.vermeulen14/

saltydog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7828
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #26 on: January 07, 2011, 23:48:40 »

I agree, but what can you do..?  Apparently this problem did not show up at testing.
Let's hope a fix is in the near future..
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 02:43:13 by saltydog »
Logged

LoneWolfDon

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 82
    • The RailRoad Yard
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #27 on: January 07, 2011, 23:51:09 »

yes there are some good changes but when in the agile solution when moving around in walk around mode engines change up/down when walking (i walk forward=engine full throttle/backwards = reverse)

In Walkthrough mode, instead of using the arrow-keys to move around, use the W,A,S,D keys instead.
This seems to work well for me and doesn't affect the throttle setting this way either.
Logged
Each day is a gift. Enjoy! :)

TNeves

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 411
    • Blog Roda do Leme
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #28 on: January 08, 2011, 00:03:24 »

I voted the last option.
Why? A dramatic drop down of the FPS with about 50 %. A radarscreen degraded to a stationary map does not make things better, right?

Are you talking about this?
http://80.95.161.114/shipsim/forum/index.php/topic,23431.0.html
Logged

krytsch

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #29 on: January 08, 2011, 00:10:42 »

Oh no! Even Aad isn't satisfied - one off the most patient forum members.
This is indeed an alarm signal.
Logged

saltydog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7828
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #30 on: January 08, 2011, 00:46:35 »

With 5 fps the game is unplayable..
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 02:42:46 by saltydog »
Logged

Vige

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 48
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #31 on: January 08, 2011, 02:29:40 »

Not satisfied  :(
Logged

KiwiSailor

  • Guest
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #32 on: January 08, 2011, 02:35:27 »

Vige,
I thought you were a avid supporter of the game and told me to wait until the updates before I criticise the game.  :doh:
On my way of thinking this game has grown in strength. It has all the things I wanted. Bridge dials that work, Mouse commands work and a few other things that make the game stand out.  :2thumbs:  Just wish my playing frame rate had not taken a huge hit. If any one finds a quick fix I look forward to your ideas. I will try a few things myself.  :-\

Cheers Nick.
Logged

Woz

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 10
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #33 on: January 08, 2011, 04:55:59 »

  The colors of the ships in the charts leaves a lot to be desired (light Grey on white & White on Light Green makes the ship almost impossible to see.
Logged

LoneWolfDon

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 82
    • The RailRoad Yard
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #34 on: January 08, 2011, 05:23:25 »

  The colors of the ships in the charts leaves a lot to be desired (light Grey on white & White on Light Green makes the ship almost impossible to see.

Hiya Woz. Did you try the simple "fix" for this from this other thread?
http://80.95.161.114/shipsim/forum/index.php/topic,23415.0.html
Hope that helps.
Logged
Each day is a gift. Enjoy! :)

Vige

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 48
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #35 on: January 08, 2011, 08:26:40 »

Quote
Vige,

I thought you were a avid supporter of the game and told me to wait until the updates before I criticise the game.
You're right Nick, I did say this.

It's funny but I don't feel like I still have the positive outlook that I used to have about this game. My desktop PSU shat itself not long ago and now I don't have the capability to play SSE at all.

I have been patient as a parrot and done all the right things, hoped that the patch might enable GPU selection prior to game launch after emailing VSTEP, etc. but in the end I was told it wasn't going to happen and while I have a lot of respect for what VSTEP have tried to create, it is in the end moot for me. 

IMHO the engineering that has gone into this game puzzles me a bit - frame rates have dropped for quite a few players etc. If I can play Rise of Flight on next to full settings on a laptop, I should shoe it in on SSE. 

Don't know what to say now guys, sorry. I don't want to bag the game but I am incredibly dissapointed that so many are experiencing issues.   

I'm really trying to stay upbeat about SSE but how do you do that if you can't play it?       
Logged

saltydog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7828
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #36 on: January 08, 2011, 09:00:10 »

It's not easy.. ;)
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 02:41:58 by saltydog »
Logged

Denis

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1038
    • declik.org
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #37 on: January 08, 2011, 09:59:46 »

Hi guys,

For those who report a framerate drop since the 1.3 update, can you please tell us :

1. what is your in-game anti-aliasing level setting ?
2. have you tried reducing this anti-aliasing (starting from none, then trying one step higher, and so on) ? Can you please do that and tell us if your framerate drop is linked with the anti-aliasing ?
3. if you have in-game antialising enabled, have you set up your video card anti aliasing settings to 'managed by applications' ?

Logged

Kobus Post

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 308
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #38 on: January 08, 2011, 12:06:41 »

I started with a fresh install and my average framerate (cutter, port of rotterdam) was 13-14 fps, settings on very high and a 1024*768 resoltion and using the nVidia Control Panel i set AA to 16X.

With patch 1.3, my average framerate was 8-9 fps, Same settings, but with AI traffic turned on and AA ingame on very high.

Note: I started with version 1.0 and then i installed patch 1.x ->1.3.
Note: I have a damaged graphics card, so my memory clock is 865 MHz instead of 1151 MHz.

« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 15:23:02 by Kobus Post »
Logged
MacBook Pro Retina 15"

krytsch

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #39 on: January 08, 2011, 12:53:21 »

Denis:
My framerate drop is approx. 10 -20 %, but that doesn't matter a lot, because the game was pretty unplayable before updating. To verify this I uninstalled the game yesterday, installed version 1 and tried different things, then patched the game and tried the same things. (from 7-13 to 6-10 fps - on a computer, that should be able to handle SSE and doesn't have any problems running other simulations or demanding software)

1. My ingame AA-setting is 'none" - zero, which looks quite odd, like playing a game 10 years ago.
2. I cant reduce the AA-settings further, but the framerate of the start screen reduces dramatically when I raise the AA-level (from ~22 to ~14 fps)
3. Yes - of course I have tried this option before - with no significant impact, whether before nor after the update.

BTW - I tested this while writing this post. The first attempt was first core mission in Hamburg. Like so many times before the engines refused to work, although the controls on the screen moved. This time there was no sound (which admittedly is better than the annoying bow splashing, which usually is heard when the engines don't work).
« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 13:02:14 by krytsch »
Logged

Kevinmcg_ships

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 907
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #40 on: January 08, 2011, 13:00:19 »

I voted "not satisfated" because I have noticed that SSE loads slow and loading a mission is even slower with patch 1.3.

Oh and I've had my first ever app crash since I bought SSE.  :(
Logged
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit  |  CPU: Intel i7-4770k @ 3.5 GHz  |  RAM: 16Gb DDR3  |  Graphic Card: Asus GTX 660 DirectCU II OC

Third Mate

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1600
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #41 on: January 08, 2011, 13:54:22 »

One odd thing from me, Steam updated the game for me to 1.3..... So the game was updated but it still says it's 1.2.2
Logged


THE 888 MARK
THE 999 MARK
THE 1111 MARK

Heikodewal

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 75
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #42 on: January 08, 2011, 14:09:42 »

I reinstalled SSE v 1.01 again, with high quality I have 20 fps.
And no problems with rudder or throttle when changing views.
After installing version 1.3 I played again with same quality settings, framerate dropped to 11 and I have the rudder and throttle problems again when changing from orbit to helmsman view.
I can ofcourse play with the framerate but a performance drop of 45% is hefty.

Does anyone else experience the strange behaviour in view change???????
Logged

krytsch

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #43 on: January 08, 2011, 15:19:57 »

Yes, I have the same rudder/throttle problems - but they were there since version 1.2.2.
Logged

Heikodewal

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 75
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #44 on: January 08, 2011, 16:19:20 »

Yes, I have the same rudder/throttle problems - but they were there since version 1.2.2.

I never experienced them in 1.2.2......  It's strange that almost nobody has mentioned this.


Fred, are these errors known with VSTEP?
Logged

krytsch

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 333
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #45 on: January 08, 2011, 16:33:18 »

Well, it wasn't so important for me, because the game wasn't properly playable anyway and I was waiting for the next patch to come, and restarting the game usually solved the problem. This behaviour is definitely better than ships committing suicide etc., as seen in version 1.
Logged

dexter7

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1000
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #46 on: January 08, 2011, 16:46:26 »

I voted yes but no Huge drop in FPS and it takes 15 to 20 minutes to just load a free roam! But great mission editor. :thumbs:
Logged
My PC specs:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
600W Power Supply
MSI N760 TF IV OC
8GB or RAM
Acer X213W ~ Cyberpower PC Gamer Ultra 2097 Desktop PC
Favorite games: Ship Simulators, MS Flight Sims, Railworks 3,

Mad_Fred

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 8689
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #47 on: January 08, 2011, 16:53:02 »

Well as we have seen in your topic about the DLL errors, your computer is unfortunately below specs, and a bit aswell. So a few problems are to be expected unfortunately, that's not the game's fault..  :-\
Logged

Azipod

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 54
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #48 on: January 08, 2011, 21:11:30 »

I love the sim and I love being able to be the "Captain" of my own cruise ship.

However, with v1.3, VStep left me, my crew, and my passengers stranded due to the panalopy of bugs.

With v1.3, my ship isn't going anywhere.    =(

Logged

dexter7

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1000
Re: Are you now 100% satisfied with the 1.3 patch?
« Reply #49 on: January 08, 2011, 21:21:00 »

yes Mad_Fred but it works on my xp ill post pics in the SSE pitcure topic to prove
Logged
My PC specs:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 (4 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
600W Power Supply
MSI N760 TF IV OC
8GB or RAM
Acer X213W ~ Cyberpower PC Gamer Ultra 2097 Desktop PC
Favorite games: Ship Simulators, MS Flight Sims, Railworks 3,
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines