Hello Guest July 22, 2018, 15:48:59 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 

Poll

Will you buy the control unit? And what about its price?

Yes I will buy it, and the price is fine
I might buy it, although a better price would be have been 200 - 300 €
I might buy it, although a better price would have been 100 - 200 €
I wont buy it, I already have a joystick or home made one
I wont buy it, It simply doesn't appeal to me

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ship Simulator Control Unit  (Read 46634 times)

Shipaddict

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3745
    • ShipSim Magazine Official Website
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2009, 21:26:32 »

I prefer the throttles and tiller on that one personally but I prefer the other buttons etc on the newer one. :)
Logged

AriesDW

  • NVDG
  • Moderator, NVDG
  • Posts: 873
    • Check out my flickr!
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2009, 22:35:32 »

I look forward to trying it. It looks like quite and awesome input device.
Logged
-Dave

Moderator, Ship Simulator Official Forums
Founder, The Ship Simulator New Vessel Design Group
Designer - Print, Branding, Fashion, Identity Systems

The New Vessel Design Group - Bringing gamers ideas to Ship Simulator

Captain Cadet

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1675
    • The Guide to Shipsim
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2010, 11:52:49 »

I will buy it if it was cheaper. lets say: £80
« Last Edit: February 23, 2010, 18:48:03 by Captain Cadet »
Logged
Captain Cadet
Please don't message me for technical support!

pigdog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 192
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #28 on: February 22, 2010, 11:53:09 »

Quote
I'm not sure about the Ocean Star but... Although it would work to some extent on Red Eagle, it would not be able to give you a full 360 degree turn on a VSP, (unless someone knows different,   )

Hi All, your quite right Dave M, i'm in the final stages of testing azimuth controls that I've built using 360 degree potentiometers and they do work well with the red eagle it gives you full 360 turning ability but as you say the azimuth vessels ocean star and Bugsier 2 they will not work with.
If these two vessels had the same steering paramiters of the red eagle instead of their current limitations the controls would work great and I'm guessing that you would have the same problem with the Ship control unit.

I'm in the process of making a short video to show these controls in action and the limitations with azimuth ships.

If it were me I'd save the money and spend half on building your own controller and the other half on wine, women and the next two releases of shipsim, thats a lot of dosh!
Logged
[img width=585 height=150http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/9431/panddax5.png]

maverik90

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 27
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #29 on: February 22, 2010, 22:48:42 »

The console is fine even though it may be better at a better price as 100 - 200 € but I'm in Italy and I can not find a dealer who can sell Italian! can someone help me? :)
Logged

Captain Cadet

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 1675
    • The Guide to Shipsim
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #30 on: February 23, 2010, 18:47:33 »

fine it now up to:
£80
Logged
Captain Cadet
Please don't message me for technical support!

McGherkin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3153
    • Come visit me at Cliosport.net
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #31 on: February 23, 2010, 19:31:23 »

I'd still rather have a wheel. most ships are controlled with wheels anyway...
Logged
Almost never here, try here.

saltydog

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 7828
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #32 on: February 23, 2010, 21:49:53 »

The console is fine even though it may be better at a better price as 100 - 200 € but I'm in Italy and I can not find a dealer who can sell Italian! can someone help me? :)

Hi maverik...Why not order it from ShipSim..?

http://www.shipsim.com/products/ship+control+unit.php
Logged

maverik90

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 27
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #33 on: February 24, 2010, 15:11:03 »

Hi maverik...Why not order it from ShipSim..?

http://www.shipsim.com/products/ship+control+unit.php

Simply because it costs a little too much!  :C
Logged

Willmutt

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 169
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #34 on: March 04, 2010, 18:38:28 »

This control unit doesn't appeal to me at all. I'm just intressed in the throttles, like the throttles in this clip:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSqCzkkAL-g&feature=channel
If that was available for a affordable price like maybe 80-100 dollars I would buy it. With a steering wheel it would be a perfect setup :thumbs:  The rest, like cameras and so on can be controlled from the keyboard. That is what i think, does anyone agree with me?
Logged

McGherkin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3153
    • Come visit me at Cliosport.net
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #35 on: March 05, 2010, 08:08:51 »

I agree. My wheel has all the buttons of the SCU, but it only lacks a dual throttle.
Logged
Almost never here, try here.

Willmutt

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 169
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #36 on: April 07, 2010, 12:15:13 »

Would this Saitek Pro Flight throttle work for SS well?
http://www.prisjakt.nu/produkt.php?p=214240
It costs about 50 euro / 450 sek. I mean, there is no specialized SS (just) throttle that you can buy and use with your steering wheel, instead you have to buy the hole SS control unit that looks really cheap. Could this be used instead and work well?
Logged

McGherkin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3153
    • Come visit me at Cliosport.net
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #37 on: April 07, 2010, 12:16:52 »

SS08 only supports 1 joystick if I remember correctly.
Logged
Almost never here, try here.

Willmutt

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 169
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #38 on: April 07, 2010, 12:22:23 »

sucks...
Logged

McGherkin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3153
    • Come visit me at Cliosport.net
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #39 on: April 07, 2010, 12:37:54 »

Agreed. Maybe in NAUTIS :-\
Logged
Almost never here, try here.

Willmutt

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 169
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #40 on: April 07, 2010, 16:11:51 »

You really should be able to have it in SSE, would be a shame without. I wont pay 4000 euros just to have an extra unit connected! :lol:
Logged

otacon1001

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 24
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2010, 22:21:30 »

What happened to this product does Vstep not endorse it anymore.
Logged

McGherkin

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 3153
    • Come visit me at Cliosport.net
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #42 on: May 18, 2010, 22:23:29 »

Possibly because of the experience of the people who bought it. Or at least one of them. Plus it cost a lot of money...

You might notice that Sail Simulator's gone too.
Logged
Almost never here, try here.

Frank_VSTEP

  • Guest
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #43 on: May 19, 2010, 19:22:27 »

What happened to this product does Vstep not endorse it anymore.

Feedback has been good, so the control unit will be back on sale through the site soon. We're solving some tech issues with the webshop regarding this control unit and will put it back online asap.
Logged

capterik

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 14
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #44 on: May 20, 2010, 11:58:16 »

Well after waiting for someone in the states to carry this, it finally happened and I have it in hand! If I ordered from Europe it was around $550 and just too much at around $300 I can do it! works awsome andevery button is programable and comes with numerous labels, although it could use some more.

The FlightSim Pilot Shop
------------------------------------------------------

Date Ordered: Friday 07 May, 2010

Products
------------------------------------------------------
1 x VRInsight - Ship Console (SHC-100) = $299.95
------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: $299.95

Logged

McKay

  • Guest
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2010, 03:27:26 »

Would this Saitek Pro Flight throttle work for SS well?
http://www.prisjakt.nu/produkt.php?p=214240

I have a set that includes exactly this item and a steering yoke.  I've been very happy with it.
Logged

*M*A*S*

  • Forum member
  • Posts: 66
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #46 on: February 18, 2015, 01:41:21 »

I no longer see the ship control unit listed on shipsim website? anyone knows anything?
Logged
*M*A*S*
Ships Officer
U.S. Merchant Marine

Mr Robville

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2900
    • Robville Virtual Realisations
Re: Ship Simulator Control Unit
« Reply #47 on: February 18, 2015, 08:42:27 »

Hi,
You can get it at SimWare now. You can find it here: http://www.simw.com/hardware/maritime-naval/ship-console.html
Logged

       www.Robville.net                        Please do not contact me personally for technical support issues.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 
 


SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines