Hello Guest June 15, 2024, 21:00:29 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Backing Pride of Rotterdam?  (Read 1572 times)

Legion

• Forum member
Backing Pride of Rotterdam?
« on: March 20, 2009, 16:25:58 »

Hello all,
  I am new to the game, and am currently working on the missions. I am on the mission where you depart san francisco and cruise to Phi Phi in the Pride of Rotterdam. You start in a small slip and must back out. I have been at full reverse throttle for 23 minutes and am not even half way out of the slip. Is there any other way to back out? There is barely enough room for the ship to fit in the slip, so turning around is not an option.

Thanks in advance,
 Legion

Nathan|C

Re: Backing Pride of Rotterdam?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2009, 16:27:55 »

Hi Legion?

Welcome to the forum!

I've played this mission myself and the Pride has been able to move out of the dock nice and fast going astern. Which version of ShipSim are you running? (You can find this by looking in the bottom left hand corner on the main game menu) Are you sure you have disconnected all of the mooring lines?

Nathan

Legion

• Forum member
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2009, 16:32:47 »

I am using the latest version 1.4.2 I believe it is. Yes all the mooring lines are disconnected. It looks like turning the rudders hard to port is helping a little bit. Im am moving at 3.09 Kn over ground, sure beats the .02 Kn over ground before turning the rudder. I am not really sure why this is increasing my speed, but my rudders are at 45 degrees.

Nathan|C

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2009, 16:34:46 »

This sounds odd, i'll try the mission now and see what happens. The 1.4.2 Pride of Rotterdam dynamics are notorious for being a bit "slow".

Legion

• Forum member
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2009, 16:37:13 »