Hello Guest May 15, 2024, 16:44:01 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What Happened to SSE?  (Read 3655 times)

Bukko

• Forum member
What Happened to SSE?
« on: June 14, 2011, 01:49:58 »

Hi Ship nuts,

I'm fairly new to the Ship Simulator series and about a month ago I purchased SSE thru Steam. I've had no problems whatsoever with Steam btw so it looks like they've got it work out at this time.

A buddy of mine who suggested the Ship Simulator Series has SS 2008 as well as SSE.

After toying around with SSE for a while and getting a little frustrated with the front end menus (the lack of user ergonomics in the menus, load times, missing trackir support, memory loading resulting in 2-4 fps in Anartica free roaming, reseting throttles when switching views, graphic short comings such as poor bow wake/ spray, sea textures overlapping the boat in rougher water, limited map functions, poor drawing distance for scenery, pop up bridges and horizon objects, I could go on and on... but I'm not here to bash the SSE. I want to see it succeed!

I have a very fast multi core i7 gaming computer with plenty of ram and a 1.2gb Nvidia 570GTX. Raid arrays blah blah blah....and usually get 20-50fps in SSE with everything maxed in the settings @ 1900x1200 res.

Out of curiosity after reading the forum for a couple of weeks I borrowed my buddies copy of SS 2008 and was really surprised to find that SS 2008 actually blows SSE away in most everything but the look of the water! Ship modeling is pretty much the same... the menu system, bow spray/ wakes are much better. The ships seem to handle just as well as SSE and all of this with 60-100 fps.